Faculty of Law

 

The Faculty of Law of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg is one of the oldest faculties of law in Germany. When the University was first founded in 1402 several chairs of law were already established.

Today the Faculty of Law is seated in the building of the “Alte Universität” (old university) which was erected after the reestablishment of the university in 1582 and is situated in Würzburg’s city center. This Renaissance square building with four wings had been completed as former main building of the university in 1591. Similar to a modern campus university nowadays, all four faculties of that time – Philosophy, Theology, Law and Medicine – were housed at the Old University. The devastating aerial bombing raid on Würzburg on March 16th 1945 destroyed the old university building leaving only its external walls.

Neubaukirche

 

Today the reconstructed magnificent building accommodates not only most chairs and the faculty administration, but also modern lecture rooms as well as a library of some 341.000 volumes and a cafeteria. The impressive “Neubaukirche” and its foyer are used as the University’s “Aula” (assembly hall). 

The Faculty of Law consists of 20 chairs and 5 professorships, which together form 6 institutes. Some 2200 students are currently studying law at the Faculty of Law of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg and each year about 550 new students arrive.

In Würzburg special emphasis is put on the foundations of law such as history of law and legal philosophy (jurisprudence) on the one hand and the international and especially the European orientation of research and education on the other. This shall prepare the students for a globalized job market in an optimal way. A comprehensive companion program in European Law and a postgraduate Master studies program in European Law are complemented by a diverse foreign legal languages program and introductions into foreign laws. The faculty further offers special courses preparing students for their final exams and a program in e-learning. In the fall semester of 2007/08 an interdisciplinary program of lectures was introduced to provide intercultural competences for students of all faculties.

Der große Löwenhof in einer Miniatur der Würzburger Bischofschronik von Lorenz Fries.

Juristische Fakultät

 

Die Juristische Fakultät der Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg zählt zu den ältesten rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultäten Deutschlands. Schon bei der Erstgründung der Universität Würzburg 1402 waren die Juristen mit mehreren Lehrstühlen vertreten.

 

Die 1582 erbaute Alte Universität

Und noch heute ist die Juristische Fakultät im Gebäude der nach der Neugründung der Universität im Jahre 1582 errichteten „Alten Universität“ im Würzburger Stadtzentrum beheimatet. Dieses Renaissancegeviert wurde als ehemaliges Hauptgebäude der Universität Würzburg im Jahre 1591 fertiggestellt. Dort waren wie an einer modernen Campus-Universität alle vier Fakultäten, Philosophie, Theologie, Jurisprudenz und Medizin, untergebracht. Durch den verheerenden Luftangriff auf Würzburg am 16. März 1945 wurde auch die Alte Universität bis auf die Außenmauern zerstört.

Neubaukirche

 

Heute beherbergt der rekonstruierte Prachtbau nach umfassenden Renovierungsarbeiten nicht nur die Lehrstühle und Verwaltungsräume der Juristischen Fakultät, sondern auch moderne Hörsäle sowie die Teilbibliothek Recht und eine hauseigene Cafeteria. Die mächtige Neubaukirche samt Foyer dient als festliche Aula der Universität.

Die Juristische Fakultät besteht aus 20 Lehrstühlen sowie fünf Professuren an sechs Instituten. Rund 2.200 Studierende gehen derzeit in Würzburg ihrem Jurastudium nach, wobei jährlich ca. 550 neue Studierende an der Fakultät ihr Studium aufnehmen.

 

Ein besonderes Augenmerk legt man in Würzburg auf rechtsgeschichtliche und rechtsphilosophische Grundlagen sowie auf eine internationale und insbesondere europäische Ausrichtung der Ausbildung zur bestmöglichen Vorbereitung der Studierenden auf einen globalisierten Arbeitsmarkt. Umfassende Begleit- und Aufbaustudienmöglichkeiten im Europäischen Recht werden ergänzt durch ein breites Fachsprachenangebot mit Einführungen in ausländische Rechtsordnungen. Besonders engagiert ist die Fakultät auch in den Bereichen der universitären Examensvorbereitung und des E-Learnings. Seit dem Wintersemester 2007/2008 existiert schließlich ein fakultätsübergreifendes Vorlesungsprojekt zur Vermittlung interkultureller Kompetenz an Studierende aller Fachrichtungen.